Another one bites the dust!

Another one bites the dust!

It’s blog day again!

11 December, the time is speeding by until my family arrives.  I have one more infusion scheduled between now and then, so I should be in good form to keep up with them all!  My breathing is feeling pretty good, I’m excited about that!  I’m so lucky to be here, I can’t even tell you how much.

Sophia the foster kitty is still with me.  She’s so cute and friendly.  It must surely be only that she is a black cat that she hasn’t been adopted, because her nature is beautiful.  If she hasn’t been adopted by the time I go home, I think she may come with me.  Wait, does my husband read this??…ah well, he knows what I’m like lol.

Sophia getting into the Christmas decorations… I mean Christmas spirit!

This week I went to Disney World in Orlando with Monique who is another Pompe patient.  Monique was recently in New Zealand to help with the campaign for getting medicine funded for Pompe disease.

Monique invited me to Disney to go to Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas at Magic Kingdom.  We stayed there overnight and went to Animal Kingdom the next day.  The Christmas party was lovely.  The decorations and the fireworks were just beautiful.  I felt lucky to be there and witness it all, such beautiful memories to last a lifetime.

Minnie, me, Monique and Mickey

One of the things I love about being in America is the way they honour their troops.  Everywhere you see “Thank You” messages and other messages of support to the men and women who are in the military.  TV, the theme parks like Disney and Sea World.  Disney chooses a veteran to help take the flag down and when you see the proud face on that veteran, it really brings tears to your eyes.  At Sea World during some of the shows they ask the service people to stand up, then they put them on the big screen and everyone gives them a huge round of applause.  We don’t see this sort of thing in New Zealand unless it is a day like ANZAC Day.

Animal Kingdom is fantastic!  We went on a safari ride in a truck.  Our driver had just the best sense of humour!  We went tearing around through rivers and dirt tracks, past cheetahs and crocodiles, rhinos and hippos.  So much fun!

The Tree of Life is beautiful!  It has a whole range of animals carved into it.  See how many you can pick out of this photo!

There are no prizes for guessing, because I don’t know how many there are, so…

Monique and I at the Tree of Life

These naughty squirrels raid the baby strollers for food while the occupants are away on rides.

How can you mind when they are so cute?!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this exciting installment of Allyson’s Florida Blog 🙂
Stay tuned for more next week!
And if you haven’t checked out the below link yet…you’re missing out!

Norad Santa Tracker

1 Comment

  1. Robyn

    Glad your breathing is getting better Allyson. Not long now until Steve & the boys get there. You must be soo excited.

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *