Last blog from the USA

Last blog from the USA


This is my last blog from this side of the Equator.

Update on our fundraising for Benjamin Revell;

We raised $520 for Benjamin and Malia’s daughter.  And, it is with great joy I can say that “Luisa Rose Revell” was born this week 🙂  Congratulations to the new parents.  Exciting times!


Sophia has gone back to the shelter, but she is to be adopted by friends of mine in Wisconsin.  I’m so happy about that!  I know that Sophia will have a wonderful home with Debbie and Cliff.  I met this lovely couple when I went to San Antonio for the Pompe conference last year.  I think Sophia will be perfect for them!  Don’t foget to send piccies to Aunty Allyson 🙂

Here’s Sophia having her last sleep on Road Runner before leaving.

Sophia trying to sneak away to New Zealand in my carry on luggage. I’ll miss you Sophia xo


This week I had my final infusion in Florida.  What a sad time it was to say goodbye to the wonderful people who have taken such good care of me during my time here.  We had a pizza party in my room while I was having my last infusion.  They bought me a lovely cake with a gator on it, and some lovely gifts to take back to NZ with me, including a breeding pair of squirrels.  Now I just have to work out how to sneak those through customs… maybe one down each…hmmm nah…

George brought along some wine which Russ hooked into.  George wrapped the wine himself in a classy brown paper bag!  Apparently it’s also classy to drink it from the bottle while it is still in the paper bag.  Thanks for the heads up George, I’ll give that a crack!  Notice the name of the wine?  *sniggers*  Thank you George, that’s going back to NZ with me!  I’ve also got some Cheer Wine to take home.  No it’s not an alcoholic beverage!

Great memories to last a lifetime 🙂
Thanks everyone xo

I’m really going to miss “all ya’all”!  Did I say that right Betsy??  The girls have been trying to give me lessons on how to speak with a southern accent.  I don’t think I ever really got the hang of it!  I have made so many good friends here.  I really never expected that to happen at all.  I guess I don’t really know what my expectations were, if any.  I was excited to be accepted to come over for the trial, and that was pretty much all I had in mind.  To have met so many people who were so good to me, was the icing on the cake.  I have enjoyed my time here immensely.  To say the American people are awesome is an understatement.  Kind, warm, caring, polite, fun and truly giving are just some of the things that come to mind.  Thank you all, thank you.  I really hope we meet again.

Tomorrow (Sunday Florida time) I leave Gainesville and head to Orlando with Katie.  I have an early morning flight Monday to LA so it’s easier to stay in a hotel at the airport.  I fly out to LA and get to spend the day there with those crazy California girls before I ship out to NZ later in the evening.  Then I have a 13 hour flight to Auckland where my son James and his girlfriend Rochelle will meet me for breakfast.  Following that I hop a flight to Palmerston North, where Steve and the boys and Pops will pick me up and take me home.

I’ll do another blog from NZ.  Thank you to my avid reader for reading this!

See you on the other side…

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *